- Dietary Supplements
- Health Conditions
- Healthy Nutrition
- Cardiovascular Health
- Skin Care
- Natural Remedies
Celiac Disease Sufferers: What You Need to Avoid
Those that have received a diagnosis for the medical condition called Celiac disease may at first think that they need to eliminate a lot of foods from their diet or suffer the consequences. There are a number of gluten-based foods and products that you should absolutely stay away from but the good news is, there are some that you can substitute.
Celiac disease involves a systemic reaction to gluten. For patients diagnosed with Celiac disease, the ingestion of any product that contains gluten causes immediate harm to the intestines. The warning includes not only food, but anything that may have come into contact with gluten: utensils, bowls, toasters, storage contains, shared knives, cutting boards and even crumbs for products that contain gluten.
Gluten is most commonly found in both white and wheat flour and is therefore used in a lot of different food products including breads, baked goods, cereals, pastas, and pizza dough. You will need to begin a habit of reading all labels to ensure that it is gluten-free. Just because something is packaged as wheat-free, does not necessarily mean it is gluten-free. You can substitute all of the above mentioned food items with any that are made with rice or almond flour.
Other food items that you need to avoid include: barley (including malt), rye, bulgur and spelt. Substitutions in your diet can include: rice, corn, buckwheat, amaranth, millet, tapioca and quinoa. Many dairy products contain gluten, so again, read the labels for consuming. If you enjoy the occasional beer, you need to be extra careful because many beers and spirits are made with rye and malt. Look for those that are gluten-free.
If you enjoy gravies, condiments and dressings, examine the label for contents and instead use oils, vinegars and any gluten-free substitutes. When it comes to the topics of meats, stay as far away from any processed meats as possible. Substitute with fresh meats that include, chicken, turkey, pork, fresh fish, lamp and shellfish.
Don’t be drawn in by the healthy look of granola and energy bars, they also are packed with gluten. Always look for the gluten-free announcement on the labels, and you can enjoy the same treats, without the intestinal distress. This also includes any packaged foods. A majority of the packaged foods contain gluten.
The Western diet includes a lot of breaded and fried foods. These are now off-limits to you. It’s recommended, instead, that you substitute fresh fruits and vegetables. Yes, I know, it’s not the same. But while you are eating that apple or orange, remember that you also won’t experience the pain of a bad food choice.
While all of the above might sound dismally horrible, there is a positive note. In the last few years there has been an acceleration of products placed on the market that are listed as gluten-free. The selections include everything from soup to nuts and supermarkets now stock their shelves with a large variety of gluten-free products. So the good news is, you can enjoy many of your favorite foods, without the worry of distress.
The information supplied in this article is not to be considered as medical advice and is for educational purposes only.
4 Responses to “Celiac Disease Sufferers: What You Need to Avoid”